Charles DickensProlific British Writer

An English writer and social critic, who created some of the world’s best-known fictional characters and is regarded by many as one of the greatest novelist of the Victorian era

Charles John Huffam Dickens (1812 – 1870) is perhaps as famous today as he was in his lifetime. He was a highly influential 19th century British novelist, journalist, editor, illustrator and social commentator.

Throughout his career, Dickens published a total of fifteen novels. His most well-known works include: ‘Oliver Twist,’ ‘A Christmas Carol,’ ‘David Copperfield’, ‘A Tale of Two Cities’, and ‘Great Expectations.’ He also penned five novellas, and countless stories and essays.

He also generously promoted the careers of other novelists in his weekly journals, and concerned himself with social issues. Many of Dickens’ major works was adapted for film, with some, like ‘A Christmas Carol,’ repackaged in various forms over the years.

Great Classics

Charles Dickens made great contribution to classic English literature. Some of his most famous work include:

Oliver Twist

'Oliver Twist' is a mesmerizing story of childhood and success against the odds. Set in the 19th century, the classic novel presents the story of young orphan, Oliver Twist, who endures tumultuous events in a society burdened by poverty, crime and malice. After being poorly treated in a workhouse, Oliver escaped to London where he ended up tangled in a web of criminal activities.

Apart from creating a brilliant piece of literature, Dickens has also documented a significant time in social history. He explored, child labor, treatment of orphans, and child recruitment into the criminal world. Oliver Twist is one of the earliest novel exploring social criticism.

Great Expectations

In 'Great Expectations', Charles Dickens' chronicles the life of Pip, a country boy led astray by the trappings of London society as well as his desire to improve himself and become a gentleman. Along the way, Pip meets Miss Havisham and her beautiful, but unattainable ward, Estella, with whom he falls deeply in love with.

Great Expectations is the thrilling story of a young man growing toward adulthood and coming to terms with all that means. Great Expectations was originally published in serial form from December 1860 to August 1861. It is beloved by generations of readers,

A Tale of Two Cities

'A Tale of Two Cities' is a a historical novel. It is a story of revolution, revenge and sacrifice - one of Charles Dickens' most exciting novels. It is set in the late 18th Century in London and Paris, against the backdrop of the French Revolution. It tells the story of a family threatened by the terrible events of the past, when injustice was met by a lust for vengeance, and rarely was a distinction made between the innocent and the guilty. The complex plot involves Sydney Carton's sacrifice of his own life on behalf of his friends Charles Darnay and Lucie Manette.

The novel is regarded as one of Dickens's most popular and most innovative works. It was published in weekly installments from April 1859 to November 1859 in Dickens's new literary periodical titled, 'All the Year Round'.

Christmas Carol

A Christmas Carol recounts the story of Ebenezer Scrooge, an elderly miser who is visited by the ghost of his former business partner, Jacob Marley and the spirits of Christmas Past, Present and Yet to Come. Over the course of one frigid Christmas Eve, miserly and miserable Ebenezer Scrooge is visited by three Christmas spirits seeking to show Scrooge the error of his baleful ways.

After the Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come shows Scrooge his lonely and miserable death, he changed his ways and became a charitable person.

David Copperfield

'David Copperfield' is the story of a young man's adventures on his journey from an unhappy and impoverished childhood to the discovery of his vocation as a successful novelist. During the writing of this novel, Dickens drew from his own experiences to create one of his most exuberant, popular works, filled with tragedy and comedy in equal measure.

David Copperfield is the eighth novel by Dickens, first published as a serial in 1849–50, and as a book in 1850. The novel full title is The Personal History, Adventures, Experience and Observation of David Copperfield the Younger of Blunderstone Rookery.

Literary genius

Widely popular are Charles Dickens' epic stories, vivid characters and exhaustive depiction of contemporary life.

Hard Times

'Hard Times' is a novel of social and moral themes, filled with family difficulties, estrangement, rotten values and unhappiness. Published in 1854, it is set in the imaginary Coketown, an industrial city inspired by Preston. It tells the story of the family of Thomas Gradgrind, a man obsessed with misguided 'Utilitarian' values that make him trust facts, statistics and practicality over emotion. It is a story of class conflict in Victorian England and serves as a powerful critique of the social injustices that plagued the Industrial Revolution.

Nicholas Nickleby

The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby or 'Nicholas Nickleby', is Dicken's third novel, originally published as a serial from 1838 to 1839. It is a popular melodrama with a rich list of characters. When his father dies penniless, Nicholas Nickleby, his mother and his sister Kate are thrown on the mercy of his corrupt uncle Ralph Nickleby.

Sent away to teach at the infamous Dotheboys Hall, run by the sadistic Wackford Squeers, Nicholas eventually absconds, but not before rescuing the poor abused Smike. He returns home just in time to save his sister from the unwanted attentions of Sir Mulberry Hawk, and eventually his family's fortunes are restored. .

Bleak House

Bleak House, was published serially in 1852–53 and in book form in 1853. Some critics considered it to be the author’s best work. Bleak House is the story of several generations of the Jarndyce family who wait in vain to inherit money from a disputed fortune in the settlement of the lawsuit of Jarndyce v. Jarndyce. It is critical of England’s Court of Chancery, in which cases could drag on through decades of convoluted legal maneuvering.

Little Dorrit

Little Dorrit, originally published in serial form between 1855 and 1857, feature Amy Dorrit, youngest child of her family, born and raised in the Marshalsea prison for debtors in London. Dickens tells the moving story of the old Marshalsea prisoner who inherits a fortune and his devoted daughter's love for a man, who believes he has done with love.

Little Dorrit is a novel of serendipity, of fortunes won and lost, and of the spectre of imprisonment that hangs over all aspects of Victorian society.Dicken draws widely on the events of his own life and times, yet focuses a powerful imaginative vision which is as universal as it is specific, immediate, and intense.

The Old Curiosity Shop

The Old Curiosity Shop, is one of two novels which Charles Dickens published along with short stories in his weekly serial Master Humphrey's Clock, from 1840 to 1841. The plot follows the life of Nell Trent and her grandfather, both residents of, The Old Curiosity Shop, in London. It was so popular that New York readers stormed the wharf when the ship bearing the final installment arrived in 1841.

Here are some examples of Shows created using our membership tools. Your profile box is for display purposes only, however you can click on the title above to see more samples.